Book a hotel among more than 200,000 structures Book

Tourist Guide of Austria

Austria and its history
Tourist Guide of Austria

Austria is rich in a priceless cultural heritage. Numerous monuments and places of historical importance are today the preferred destinations for tourists eager to appreciate the testimony of the Austro -Hungarian Empire. Austria is a predominantly mountainous Confederate State of Central Europe, consisting of nine states. A German-speaking nation, it has joined the European Community in 1995, and it is a member of the UN since 1955. It is bordered by Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Slovenia, Hungary, Germany and the Czech Republi. A resort of well known name, it had its period of more historical grandeur under the guidance of the Habsburg Empire that supported the Austro-Hungarian Empire.

The main rivers that cross the country are the Danube, the Rhine and the Inn. The Austrian climate is tempered by the harsh winters while the summers are never too hot. The capital is Vienna, which is also the most populous city. Among other major cities, you must remember Graz, Linz, Salzburg, Innsbruck and Klagenfurt. The main geographical regions are Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Burgenland, Carinthia, the region of Vienna, to Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol and Vorarlberg.

The main religion is Catholicism and the country is land-locked sea. Austria was the birthplace of two great composers, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Johann Strauss and for long housed the father of modern psychology, Sigmund Freud.
» «

© Copyright 2012 Promax Comunication SA | Swiss Made contact